5 Dec

2008 Steinlager Awards
by Tracey Nelson
5 Dec 2008

The 2008 Steinlager Awards were announced last night in Auckland. The supreme winner, taking out the Kelvin R. Tremain Memorial Player of the Year, was Andrew Hore. Hore also won the Rebel Sport Super 14 Player of the Year award, reflecting his form at hooker for the Hurricanes. The All Blacks won Team of the Year, whilst Graham Henry took out the Coach of the Year on the back of the All Blacks’ 14 from 16 wins this season in securing the Iveco Series, the Tri Nations, the Bledisloe Cup and the Grand Slam.

Other winners were:

NZRU Age Grade Player of the Year: Zac Guildford (New Zealand Under-20, Hurricanes, Hawke’s Bay)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year: DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau)

NZRU Referee of the Year: Bryce Lawrence (Bay of Plenty)

Women’s Player of the Year: Victoria Grant (nee Blackledge) (Auckland)

New Zealand Rugby Volunteer of the Year: Ken Swain (Horowhenua Kapiti)

Rebel Sport Super 14 Player of the Year: Andrew Hore (Hurricanes)

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year: Piri Weepu (Wellington)

AA Rewards Heartland Championship Player of the Year: Cameron Crowley (Wanganui)

Air New Zealand Cup Player of the Year: Jamie Mackintosh (Southland)

adidas Team of the Year: All Blacks

New Zealand Rugby Coach of the Year: Graham Henry (All Blacks)

Steinlager Salver for an Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand: Rugby Tane Norton

Kelvin R. Tremain Memorial Player of the Year: Andrew Hore

Six of New Zealand’s most decorated All Blacks were also awarded long-overdue Test caps in recognition of their first Test match and to symbolically recognise more than 400 former players who will now be presented their caps in a series of events to be held over the next two years.

The six players represented the six decades of All Blacks who did not receive their Test caps when the tradition lapsed in the decades following the Second World War. Capping was re-introduced by the New Zealand Rugby Union in 1997. The former players honoured this evening were: Fred Allen (representing the 1940s); Sir Wilson Whineray (1950s); Sir Brian Lochore (1960s); Andy Dalton (1970s); Wayne Buck Shelford (1980s); and Olo Brown (1990s).

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailfacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestmailby feather